

polymer

Polymer 49 (2008) 1077-1078

www.elsevier.com/locate/polymer

Publisher's note

The journal *Polymer* is one of the best established international forums for the polymer community. Its impact in recent years has been growing and the spectrum of topics covered has been expanding considerably.

The journal has the privilege to be among the sponsors of a number of conferences each year. During 2007 alone, *Polymer* was the sponsor of:

- the Reception of the NSF Polymers Workshop, Arlington, VA, USA, 15–16 August 2007.
- the Welcome Reception of the 2nd Strategic Polymer Symposium IUMACRO-07: IUPAC and ACS Conference on Macromolecules for a Safe, Sustainable and Healthy World, 10−13 June 2007, Brooklyn, New York, USA.
- Polymer Physics Division Meeting during the Spring Meeting of the German Physical Society, 26–30 March 2007, Regensburg, Germany.
- two students to attend the High Polymer Research Group (UK) Annual Conference in Pott Shrigley, UK, 30 April—2 May 2007.

Polymer takes pride in being the sponsor of several important awards:

- Since 1997, The John H. Dillon Medal given by the American Physical Society and its Polymer Physics Division. The 2007 winner was Darrin Pochan.
- The Herman F. Mark Award given by the Polymer Chemistry Division of the American Chemical Society. The 2007 winner was Robert Langer.
- The three newly established Mark Scholars Awards given by the Polymer Chemistry Division of the American Chemical Society. The first winners were Kris Matyjaszewski (member of the Editorial Board of *Polymer*), Craig Hawker (member of the Editorial Board of *Polymer*) and Greg Tew (Fig. 1).

In 2007 *Polymer* also offered several Best Poster Awards given at the following meetings:

• European Polymer Congress, Portorož, Slovenia, 1–7 July 2007. The winner was Tina Vermonden from Utrecht

- University for the poster "Rheological Studies of Thermosensitive Triblock Copolymer Hydrogels" by Tina Vermonden, Mies J. van Steenbergen and Wim E. Hennink.
- International Symposium on Ionic Polymerization, Kloster Banz, Germany, 2—7 September 2007. The winners were: (1) Wojciech Walach from the Polish Academy of Sciences for the poster "Amphiphilic branched polyoxiranes via controlled anionic polymerization synthesis and properties" by Wojciech Walach, Marcin Libera and Andrzej Dworak, and (2) Yessi Permana from The University of Tokyo for the poster "Direct Carbonylative Polymerization of Oxetanes Initiated by Acetylcobalt Complexes" by Yessi Permana, Koji Nakano and Kyoko Nozaki.
- Bayreuth Polymer Symposium, Bayreuth, Germany, 11–13 September 2007. Two awards were given.

In 2006—2007 we established a new award, for best paper from China published in *Polymer*. The award will be given annually and carries the name of a great polymer scientist from Peking University, the late Professor Xinde Feng. The first Feng Xinde Polymer Prize for Best Chinese Paper published in *Polymer* was presented (Figs. 2 and 3) at a ceremony at



Fig. 1. From the left to the right: *Polymer* Editor S. Richard Turner with the winners of the newly established Mark Scholar Awards Gregory N. Tew, Craig Hawker and Kris Matyjaszewski, and Jim Moore (Chair of the ACS Division of Polymer Chemistry).



Figs. 2 and 3. *Polymer* Editors Stephen Z. D. Cheng, Charles C. Han and Yongming Chen, *Polymer* Editorial Board Member Qi-Feng Zhou (President of Jilin University), Arnout Jacobs (Elsevier Beijing) with the winner of the First Feng Xinde Polymer Prize for Best Chinese Paper published in *Polymer* Er-Qiang Chen and the award nominees Zi-Chen Li, Xu-Ming Xie and Ben Zhong Tang at the award ceremony at Peking University, Beijing on 22 December 2007.

Peking University on 22 December 2007 to Er-Qiang Chen from Peking University for the paper "AFM study of crystallization and melting of a poly(ethylene oxide) diblock copolymer containing a tablet-like block of poly{2,5-bis[(4-methoxyphenyl)oxycarbonyl]styrene} in ultrathin films" by Yun Huang, Xuan-Bo Liu, Hai-Liang Zhang, Dun-Shen Zhu, Yin-Jie Sun, Shou-Ke Yan, Jing Wang, Xiao-Fang Chen, Xin-Hua Wan, Er-Qiang Chen and Qi-Feng Zhou, published in *Polymer*, volume 47 (2006), pp 1217—1225.

We extend our best wishes to all winners of awards sponsored by *Polymer* in 2007 and wish everybody success during 2008 and beyond!

Rumen Duhlev
Publisher,
Elsevier,
Oxford, UK
r.duhlev@elsevier.com